Year of 26.

Last December, the idea of starting this blog popped into my head. My manager, my friends and my family- they all supported and believed in me. It’s now almost 4 months later and I’ve finally taken the plunge. I was mostly stuck on what I’d say in this blog and who would read it. Then I realised, if I was the only person who read my blog, I’d be okay with that because it’s something I’m doing for me. I’m excited to step out of my comfort zone and do something that scares me. I’m usually my biggest critic and it has gotten worse as I’ve recently been diagnosed with depression. It was very easy to put this off for so long since all I had to do was doubt myself- but I’m working on that. My therapist has honestly been a godsend. Last session, I was given an assignment- write one blog post. Easy, right? Wrong. What do I write first? What do I share about myself? Well, I’ve already shared one big secret- depression. I’ve been ashamed of that for far too long and I’ve allowed it to control me long enough and now I’m taking control again. Kira is coming back!

This blog means a lot to me and I will try my best to be as open and share as much as I can. To be honest, I have a hard time keeping my close friends updated but I’ve made a promise to keep this blog as current as possible.

The tag line is fashion, beauty, lifestyle. So you can expect fashion finds for me, Mini KP and the whole family actually. When you’re living abroad and things are overpriced back home, you tend to be everyone’s personal shopper.

Am I the only one who needs just about 3 hours to get ready for a night out? I will show you why. I’m probably trying new makeup looks or just perfecting the old ones.

Last but by no means least, travelling. You wouldn’t believe I have a fear of flying with all the travelling I do! Some days, I might even have a ‘Dear Diary’ moment. This synopsis might not cover everything I will post but I guarantee it will be worth it.

This photo was taken back in Barbados on one of the happiest days I’ve had in a while and it’s a reminder of who I’m trying to be again.

Join the journey! Click the follow button!

IMG_1600.JPG
Dress: Boohoo/ Trainers: Adidas

 

14 thoughts on “Year of 26.

Add yours

  1. Inspiring – it’s real and relatable.

    We all deal with our own demons and in my opinion depression is definitely one of the hardest to be open about in today’s culture.

    I have been dealing with it daily for the longest time and without a support network or the ability to talk openly about my depression I’m not sure where I’d be – it still comes crashing down sometimes but that’s okay because I have learned where, what and who my lifelines are – you just became one via your WordPress.

    To know that I am not the only one who deals daily with this is very comforting and I hope you can reach out to many others by showing us how to live life and do it in style!

    Thank you Kira ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great! Thanks for sharing… being dealing with it too and the antidepressants resulted in so much wieght gain. So now I’m on a weightloss journey … I wish you all the best Kira! Look forward to seeing your other post. 🙂 xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Why I am now discovering this blog!?!! I had no idea… but every post has been refreshing for me Shakira. I always love the positive effect transparency can have on others. All the best to you as you continue on your journey. XOXO

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

